Automating cannabis expungements as a public service and lead generator

How this two-person firm simultaneously created a buzz to generate leads and met an underserved public need with a criminal expungement App and clever marketing.

July 28, 2020

Please introduce yourself.

I am Robert Alexander, cofounder and managing partner of Vanguard Advocates LLP. I am a criminal defense attorney and a Justice Entrepreneurs Project (JEP) alumni.

Our goal is to make this service both affordable and cost-effective. That's why we decided to build an automation.

Please explain the context behind the Vanguard420 App.

Illinois recently legalized the use of cannabis. To make policy change equitable, the State included expungement possibilities for prior cannabis convictions.

We want to help people take advantage of this policy change and expunge their records of cannabis convictions. Our goal is to make this service both affordable and cost-effective. That's why we decided to build an automation.

Putting aside the Vanguard420 App for a moment, what is the process like for expunging a cannabis conviction in Illinois?

You need to read the statute, make sure your conviction falls within the bounds of the statute, then file a motion. In theory, you could do this on your own, but even attorneys have trouble parsing the statute.

My recommendation to lawyers interested in building automations is to start by writing out exactly what your current process entails.

What part of this process does the Vanguard420 App automate?